Practical Meditation: Look at the Book

The Bible is unique: it stands alone among all the other books to have ever been written. And I’m not just referring to its popularity-it is unique in that it’s a library of many books written at different points in history to a people who lived long ago and yet (miraculously! Praise God!) it is still relevant to us today.

Joshua 1:8 says (in the 1984 NIV): “Do not let this book of the law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.” And yes, that command was to the Israelites and referred specifically to the Torah. But the principle is just as valid for us today: we have God’s words and he invites us to spend time in them.

I wanted to pass on a resource today that I hope will encourage some of you like it has encouraged me to further study and eventually to meditate on the Word. Because let’s face it: meditation (and even study) on/about/of the Bible can be a daunting task. “Where do I even begin?” we might ask. “How long will it take?” “Can I really keep this up?” “Who will teach me?”

If you need that first kick in the pants, a gentle reminder, a fresh method, or something in between, let me suggest John Piper’s new “Look at the Book” series. In this series he shares short (usually 8 or 9 minute) videos where he takes a short text (a verse or two) and tries to understand it, study it, see how it relates to itself and other passages, and shows you how to do the same. The video is not of him, but of the text itself and the marks/highlights/underlines that he’s making using a computer. It’s simple, it’s reproducible, and it’s beneficial. I did it myself the other day and am very pleased with the encouragement and refreshment it’s been to me!

From my time yesterday
From my time yesterday

I’ll link to two videos here. First the introductory video (that restates what I’ve said in the post but much more eloquently and inspirationally haha) and then an example of one of the videos itself. Of course, if you’d rather check it all out yourself then you can go right now to the source: http://www.desiringgod.org/labs . I hope you’re blessed by this and by your resulting times in the Word of our Lord.

The intro:

The example: 

 What has been your experience in studying and meditating on the Word? Do you have a similar or different method? What encourages you and keeps you going? I’d love to hear about it! 🙂
Add your voice to the discussion

