ReBlog: Why You Settle For Less via Storyline

*Photo Credit: bark, Creative Commons
*Photo Credit: bark, Creative Commons

About a month ago in a post titled “Why You Settle For Less When You Know There’s Better” on the Storyline Blog, Cadence Turpin shared a simple story about a man and a maple tree. It’s stuck with me since then because it deals with a topic and some questions that I’ve been asking during our transition from the past season of our life into the next one: dealing with necessary change.

How many times have I been afraid to let go of a relationship, job or opportunity because it felt hard and I wasn’t sure if God was going to really provide something better?

The answer (for me at least) is many, many times. Change isn’t always fun. Or easy. Or exciting. But there are lessons to be learned in the midst of it. One I’ve been reminded of and learning in a deeper way is the truth in Isaiah 26:3-4:

You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you. Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord God is an everlasting rock.

God is faithful. HE won’t change. He’s our sure foundation in the middle of all else. And that’s the first step: trust him. The rest will follow.

You can (and should!) read the original post here: Storyline Blog.

For those that read the article and/or have put some thought into dealing with change: what are your thoughts? Any insights or lessons learned?
2 thoughts on “ReBlog: Why You Settle For Less via Storyline

  1. Noelle August 7, 2014 / 11:27 am

    Whew, honestly, this was an excellent read considering the season I find myself in at the moment. That post on Storyline is great!

    From my own personal experience regarding this topic, recently I’ve had to let go of something I had “planted” myself, watered, and nurtured with absolute confidence that by now, I’d be reaping the fruit. In a matter of moments it seemed, I found myself chopping the whole thing down. I’ll be honest, it hurt(s)! More than anything, I was angry at myself for the waste — the wasted time, the wasted mental/emotional energy, the wasted plans. I wanted to ask God, why the heck would you let me spend all that time on this thing when I’m looking at nothing but a stump right now?

    But (hallelujah) one thing I’ve learned about God is that He doesn’t waste anything! I love the line from that Jon Foreman song, “For these seeds to give birth to life, first they must die.” I have a feeling that’s what God’s next lesson for me might be. I can kick myself for time I seem to have wasted, but through the death of that one thing, I’ve walked away with seeds that will make my next season worthwhile. And my eyes will be wide open to what He is going to do. I think with the fall of every tree, our attention whips right back around to God, which is another cool thing. And you’re so right, Josh — HE is the ONLY constant. If anything, I have a better understanding to see Him that way.

    Thanks for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • misterjoshuaray August 8, 2014 / 10:02 am

      You’re welcome, Noelle! Glad you liked it as much as I did 🙂

      That line from Jon Foreman’s song is a great addition to the whole thought process and reminds me of John 12:24, where Jesus says “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit.”

      For new life and fruitfulness to occur, oftentimes it first requires death of some sort. We can choose to focus on what we’re losing or wait expectantly for God to bring about what he’s bringing next. A good (but still hard) lesson/reminder!

      Like

Add your voice to the discussion

