Golden Gate Bound

Screen Shot 2014-07-23 at 11.50.48 AM
Lauren and I the weekend we got engaged

In my inaugural post here I shared that “I currently find myself at the end of one particular season of life and at the beginning of another. The particulars are still in flux and I’ll share them at a later point.” That was just over two months ago and I haven’t followed up on that promise…yet. So without further ado…

I have recently been accepted as a student at Golden Gate Baptist Theological Seminary, which is in the North Bay Area. Classes begin next month and Lauren and I will move out that direction and live on campus. Going to seminary has been something I’ve always thought of as a possibility for myself but the timing has never been right and I’d never felt God leading that direction. However, those factors have changed recently and we’ve seen God redirect us towards this via a variety of circumstances (not all of them “easy” or “fun”).

161125928_640

Lauren and I are excited about this next phase of our lives. Although the unknown is seriously scary and the road that’s led here has not been all smooth sailing, the fact that we can look to God through it all is a constant encouragement and refuge for us.

A verse that’s been especially encouraging to me lately is Psalm 37:3, which says:

Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.

Wherever He has put you or is bringing you: trust him. Do good, dwell there, and be faithful. He’s worthy of our trust.

For those of you who have followed us as we’ve ministered to college students with The Navigators, this move was the subject of our most recent (and most likely last) newsletter, which you can read here if you did not receive one. -> Summer 2014
3 thoughts on “Golden Gate Bound

  1. Alissa Williams July 25, 2014 / 4:24 pm

    Yay! I’m excited for you both and thankful for this open door. Praying God would strengthen you and continue to give you greater understanding of how to best serve Him.

    And blessings on you and Lo as you find me a man 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • misterjoshuaray July 26, 2014 / 9:43 am

      Thanks for the prayers and excitement/support, Alissa! We’re excited to still be close-ish to you 🙂

      Especially since it’ll make the man-search easier to coordinate 😉

      Like

Add your voice to the discussion

