FREEsources-The Kneeling Christian

praying-and-kneeling-man

Let us never forget that the greatest thing we can do for God or for man is to pray. For we can accomplish far more by our prayers than by our work. Prayer is omnipotent; it can do anything that God can do! When we pray God works. -The Kneeling Christian

Do you believe that we can do more for and with God through prayer than through anything else that we can do? I know that I’ve heard many speakers and mentors share that thought and that I’ve nodded along in agreement each time.

But the reality is that my actions don’t mirror what I say I believe. Instead, they reveal what I actually believe: that I can do more by working, striving, trying, and attempting on my own.

It’s often far easier to agree to something intellectually than to live it out in our day-to-day lives. But I don’t want to live like that-saying I believe one thing and living a completely different way.

When man works, man works. But when man prays, God works.
-Don Allen

A few weeks ago Paul Worcester  spoke at a Navigator meeting at UC Davis on the subject of prayer. He shared that a book that had majorly influenced him on prayer was a short anonymous booklet called “The Kneeling Christian.” Since then it’s been on my list to read and I finally got around to finding it online.

I’m planning on starting it this weekend and (since it’s a FREE resource online!) want to invite you to read it with me! If you’re even the slightest bit interested in learning more about prayer, being challenged, and seeing if God has anything to teach you on the subject, go ahead and join me! The link below will let you download the same version of the book that I found online:

The-Kneeling-Christian

 What has been the most influential resource or idea about prayer for you personally?

2 thoughts on “FREEsources-The Kneeling Christian

Add your voice to the discussion

