Monday Morning Music

I hope to make this a somewhat regular feature on my blog-sharing music that’s currently impacting me. We’ll see how often I’m successful in this goal, but at least I can start strong!

All Sons & Daughters is currently in my “Favorite Current Bands” category. There’s just something so authentic, raw, honest, and beautiful about every single one of their songs. I’ve been following them since their first release in 2011 and they’ve only gotten better these past few years. If you know them, good! And if you don’t…well, you should :). Here’s your first step along the way.

“Christ be All Around Me” is a song they cowrote with Leeland and that’s on their most recent album. It’s based on a prayer attributed to St. Patrick and focuses on Christ’s presence with us. I’ve always loved Scripture talking about God’s physical presence with us (Psalm 16:8, Philippians 4:9, Isaiah 41:10, and Matthew 28:20 just to name a few of my favorites), so this is definitely right up my alley.

But I won’t go on and on about it: here it is for you to enjoy yourself! The lyrics are after the youtube link.

As I rise, strength of god
Go before, lift me up
As I wake, eyes of God
Look upon, be my sight

As I wait, heart of God
Satisfy and sustain
As I hear, voice of God
Lead me on, and be my guide
And be my guide

Above and below me
Before and behind me
In every eye that sees me
Christ be all around me
Above and below me
Before and behind me
In every eye that sees me
Christ be all around me
Whoa…Whoa…Christ be all around me

As I go, hand of God
My defense, by my side
As I rest, breath of God
Fall upon, bring me peace
Bring me peace

Your life, Your death
Your blood was shed
For every moment
Every moment

Add your voice to the discussion

